Community Engagement and Public Higher Education - Dr. Theo Kalikow, President Emerita and Acting Vice Chancellor at USM.

ImageA native of Swampscott, Massachusetts, Dr. Kalikow received her A.B. in Chemistry from Wellesley College in 1962. She attended graduate school in the Boston area, receiving the Sc.M. in Philosophy from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1970, and the Ph.D. in Philosophy from Boston University in 1974.

In 1968-69 she began teaching at the University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth, where she attained the rank of Professor and served as Department Chair and faculty union president.

In 1981 Dr. Kalikow became the Interim Assistant to the President at the University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth, and during 1983-84 she served as an American Council on Education Fellow at Brown University.

From 1984 to 1987 she was Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences at the University of Northern Colorado, and in 1987 she moved to Plymouth State College (N.H.), where she served as Dean of the College (with one year as Interim President) until 1994.

In 1994 Dr. Kalikow was named President of the University of Maine at Farmington. In eighteen years of leadership at the 2,000-student University campus, President Kalikow became known statewide as a model for establishing outstanding campus-community relations, leading several successful campaigns that advanced UMF's ties to the region.

In 2012 Dr. Kalikow was named President of the University of Southern Maine and recently decided it was time for her to move into a new role in her final year of service to the University of Maine System. Known for her straight talk, sense of humor and candor, Dr. Kalikow has picked up the reins USM...Maine's second largest university.

The University of Maine System was established in 1968 as the state's largest educational enterprise. It has an annual enrollment of nearly 40,000 students and serves over 500,000 individuals through educational and cultural offerings. It features seven universities - some with multiple campuses - located across the state, as well as eight College outreach centers, a law school, an additional 31 course sites and Cooperative Extension.